Welcome to EpoS Wizard!

As you’ll no doubt have noticed if you’ve previously visited any time in the last decade or two, EPoS Wizard has undergone some quite drastic changes!

YOU WILL BE REQUIRED TO CHANGE YOUR PASSWORD
(See below if you are unable to receive a password reset request)

Read on »

Share:
Notifications
Clear all

Shape UB-811F POS Lan Issues

1 Posts
1 Users
0 Likes

Dear All,
Excuse my daft question, I'm new to ePOS world but not computers, networking etc. I have a client who has a single UP-811P ePOS terminal connected to a router via a Ethernet lead. They have registered software on a windows computer which communicates with the ePOS (over they're LAN), make changes, clear data etc. and then upload changes, prices, customers I guess.

Something's gone wrong, the ePOS is complaining it's full and looking at the PC software LOG's, the last communication was some 6 years ago!. So, this installed software has worked in the past, likewise the infrustructure. I have checked the LAN lead and all 8 connections are good, no shorts or opens. With the lead re-connected to the router, I hook up a un-managed switch, the ePOS and my linux laptop (so I can test for internet, assigned and Ping IP addresses etc). So the LAN is live and working.

They're windows laptop is on the same LAN IP but via wifi connection, so 192.168.1.xxx as my linux laptop (and the ePOS). I examined the routers user interface to see what was physically connected (using the DHCP Map) either wifi or Ethernet. I identified the obvious printers, iPad etc. but no ePOS.

I don't have a manual for the UP-811f but do have the UP-800/810f manual. After some digging I found a supplement manual with regards setting up a network of these ePOS's, one as master, the remainder as slaves. I do have the manual for the software including the install guide but most of what I managed to do was through discovery.